mandatory conviction

New Illinois law makes speeding 26 mph over the limit a crime

March 28, 2014
Thumbnail image for New Illinois law makes speeding 26 mph over the limit a crime

Illinois tollway drivers are finding out that state laws on speeding aren’t what they used to be. Drivers used to have to worry about misdemeanor charges only when speeding more than 30 MPH over the limit. But under a new law in 2014, a motorist can get a misdemeanor driving even slower than that. The […]

Read the full article

Illinois felonies result in conviction despite fact that offender has no criminal background

May 24, 2011
Thumbnail image for Illinois felonies result in conviction despite fact that offender has no criminal background

A person with no experience in the criminal justice system will see that the courts make a distinction between felony and misdemeanor cases. In almost every courthouse in Illinois, felony cases are heard by a judge who hears only felony matters. The judge presiding over felony cases is usually a Circuit Judge. These judges are […]

Read the full article

New laws in Illinois increase penalties for speeding tickets

July 3, 2010
Thumbnail image for New laws in Illinois increase penalties for speeding tickets

The laws against speeding in Illinois got tougher on July 2, 2010 when Governor Pat Quinn signed a new law aimed at persons driving 100 mph or faster. The law has two important parts: Speeding 31 mph over the Limit is a Class B Misdemeanor Speeding 31 mph in excess of the limit is no […]

Read the full article

What is criminal sexual abuse in Illinois?

April 18, 2010
Thumbnail image for What is criminal sexual abuse in Illinois?

Sex between two consenting persons who are under 17 years of age is very serious criminal offense under Illinois law. It does not matter whether the two persons have engaged in sexual intercourse willingly. It does not matter that the two persons are in a relationship together. Sex between two minors is criminal sexual abuse. […]

Read the full article

What will the sentence be for an Illinois DUI that is reduced to reckless driving?

March 4, 2010
Thumbnail image for What will the sentence be for an Illinois DUI that is reduced to reckless driving?

Defendants who are charged with driving under the influence under Section 11-501 of the Illinois Vehicle Code will almost always benefit from a reduction of the charge from DUI to reckless driving under Section 11-503. Both offenses are Class A misdemeanors for which the sentence can be up to one year in jail and a […]

Read the full article

I got pulled over going 40 MPH over the speed limit. Is this ticket serious?

February 20, 2010
Thumbnail image for I got pulled over going 40 MPH over the speed limit. Is this ticket serious?

Driving 40 miles per hour or more over the speed limit in Illinois is not just a traffic ticket. It is a criminal offense. See 625 ILCS 5/11-601.5. Speeding 40 MPH or more over the posted limit is a Class A misdemeanor offense. The offense used to be called aggravated speeding. In Illinois, a Class […]

Read the full article

What is domestic battery under Illinois law?

February 17, 2010
Thumbnail image for What is domestic battery under Illinois law?

Illinois law says that domestic battery is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail.

Read the full article

What are the penalties for a second DUI offense in Illinois?

February 8, 2010
Thumbnail image for What are the penalties for a second DUI offense in Illinois?

A second offense for DUI in Illinois results in serious penalties including driver’s license revocation, jail for transportation a minor child, and felony charges for certain conditions.

Read the full article

What does it mean to resist arrest or obstruct a peace officer?

February 5, 2010
Thumbnail image for What does it mean to resist arrest or obstruct a peace officer?

Under Illinois law, a person who is arrested by a police officer but does not cooperate runs the risk of getting charged with resisting or obstructing a peace officer.

Read the full article