day-for-day credit

Department of Corrections reinstates early release program

May 10, 2013
Thumbnail image for Department of Corrections reinstates early release program

There was a time in Illinois when inmates could get released from state prison in only days. It was the era of “dress-in-dress-out.” Those days are long gone, but the state penitentiary has re-instituted another form of early release. The new early release program has caused confusion in courtrooms throughout the state. To understand it, […]

Read the full article

Summary of sentencing rules for misdemeanor offenders

December 5, 2011
Thumbnail image for Summary of sentencing rules for misdemeanor offenders

The potential penalties for a Class A misdemeanor offense include up to one year in the county jail and a maximum fine of $2500. Technically, a sentence of incarceration can last for only 364 days. A jail sentence of 365 days or more is only permissible for a felony offense. Additionally, any sentence lasting one […]

Read the full article

Two types of domestic battery and penalties

September 13, 2011
Thumbnail image for Two types of domestic battery and penalties

The law in Illinois provides that there are two types of domestic battery offenses. First, a person can be charged with domestic battery for causing bodily harm to any family or household member. Second, a person can also be charged with domestic battery for making contact of an insulting and provoking nature with any family […]

Read the full article

I got arrested for battery. What are the penalties under Illinois law?

April 18, 2010
Thumbnail image for I got arrested for battery. What are the penalties under Illinois law?

Battery is a criminal offense in Illinois that is classified as a misdemeanor, unless there is serious injury. In cases of serious injury, battery is charged as a felony. Battery is found in the criminal code at 720 ILCS 5/12-3, which provides the following: A person commits battery if he (or she) intentionally or knowingly […]

Read the full article

I got a ticket for driving while suspended in Illinois and this is my second offense. What happens now?

February 20, 2010
Thumbnail image for I got a ticket for driving while suspended in Illinois and this is my second offense. What happens now?

Illinois law on driving while license suspended or revoked makes the second offense a very serious matter. Driving while license suspended or revoked is referred to as DWLS, DWLR, and 6-303 for the statutory section that governs the case. The statutory section, 625 ILCS 5/6-303, will appear on the traffic ticket. A second ticket for […]

Read the full article

What happens if I have an MDDP and drive a vehicle without a BAIID?

February 7, 2010
Thumbnail image for What happens if I have an MDDP and drive a vehicle without a BAIID?

Driving a vehicle without a BAIID when you have an Illinois MDDP can subject you to a Class 4 felony charge.

Read the full article