Class C misdemeanor

What is the Cannabis Law in Illinois?

March 17, 2016
Thumbnail image for What is the Cannabis Law in Illinois?

Cannabis, more commonly known as marijuana, is illegal in the state of Illinois. Despite the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act (410 ILCS 130/1) becoming effective as of January 2014, recreational use, distribution, and sale of marijuana in any quantity remains a crime in the State of Illinois. Many people downplay the severity […]

Read the full article

Overview: Expunging Your Criminal Record in Illinois

February 27, 2016
Thumbnail image for Overview: Expunging Your Criminal Record in Illinois

Expungement is the process where a criminal court disposition is removed from your public record. According to Illinois law, to expunge means “to physically destroy records or return them . . . and to obliterate the [offender’s name] from any official index or public record, or both.” 20 ILCS 2630/5.2(a)(1)(E). If you have been convicted […]

Read the full article

Summary of sentencing rules for misdemeanor offenders

December 5, 2011
Thumbnail image for Summary of sentencing rules for misdemeanor offenders

The potential penalties for a Class A misdemeanor offense include up to one year in the county jail and a maximum fine of $2500. Technically, a sentence of incarceration can last for only 364 days. A jail sentence of 365 days or more is only permissible for a felony offense. Additionally, any sentence lasting one […]

Read the full article

What is a Class C misdemeanor in Illinois?

April 10, 2011
Thumbnail image for What is a Class C misdemeanor in Illinois?

The Class C misdemeanor in Illinois is an atypical offense. Most misdemeanor offenses are categorized as Class A misdemeanors, not Class C misdemeanors. The law in Illinois says that a person charged with a Class C misdemeanor is subject to a maximum 30 days imprisonment and fine of $1,500. On the books, there are three […]

Read the full article

What is a Class B misdemeanor in Illinois?

March 23, 2011
Thumbnail image for What is a Class B misdemeanor in Illinois?

Under Illinois law, a criminal offense is generally classified as either a felony or a misdemeanor. The difference between felony and misdemeanor is that a felony has a penalty of one year or more imprisonment, whereas a misdemeanor is a penalty of less than one year. There are three types of misdemeanors: Class A, Class […]

Read the full article

What is the law in Illinois on assault?

March 28, 2010
Thumbnail image for What is the law in Illinois on assault?

Assault is a criminal offense in Illinois that can result in imprisonment. The offense is codified at 720 ILCS 5/12-1 in Illinois criminal code. The statute provides that assault is a Class C misdemeanor offense. All Class C misdemeanor offenses in Illinois have a punishment of up to 30 days in jail and a fine […]

Read the full article

What is the law in Illinois on possession of cannabis?

March 3, 2010
Thumbnail image for What is the law in Illinois on possession of cannabis?

Possession of cannabis, generally referred to a marijuana, is a criminal offense in Illinois. The criminal charge of possession of cannabis is set forth in 720 ILCS 550/1 et seq, the Illinois Cannabis Control Act. While other states have decriminalized cannabis, Illinois has not. To decriminalize possession of cannabis is to say that it is […]

Read the full article