Class A misdemeanor

Having contact with victim in domestic battery is a crime

August 15, 2011
Thumbnail image for Having contact with victim in domestic battery is a crime

After an arrest for domestic battery, typically the police will release the offender upon payment of a small bond or signing a recognizance bond. The bond sheet is been provided to the person along with his other property. However, in some counties, the police will bring the person who was arrested before a judge for […]

Read the full article

What is a Class C misdemeanor in Illinois?

April 10, 2011
Thumbnail image for What is a Class C misdemeanor in Illinois?

The Class C misdemeanor in Illinois is an atypical offense. Most misdemeanor offenses are categorized as Class A misdemeanors, not Class C misdemeanors. The law in Illinois says that a person charged with a Class C misdemeanor is subject to a maximum 30 days imprisonment and fine of $1,500. On the books, there are three […]

Read the full article

What is a Class B misdemeanor in Illinois?

March 23, 2011
Thumbnail image for What is a Class B misdemeanor in Illinois?

Under Illinois law, a criminal offense is generally classified as either a felony or a misdemeanor. The difference between felony and misdemeanor is that a felony has a penalty of one year or more imprisonment, whereas a misdemeanor is a penalty of less than one year. There are three types of misdemeanors: Class A, Class […]

Read the full article

What is a Class A misdemeanor in Illinois?

February 13, 2011
Thumbnail image for What is a Class A misdemeanor in Illinois?

All criminal charges in the state of Illinois fall generally into two categories: felony and misdemeanor. The distinction between felony and misdemeanor is that a felony offense has a possible sentence of one year or more imprisonment, whereas a misdemeanor is less than one year. Most states classify their offenses in this same manner. The […]

Read the full article

Theft of lost property: not a criminal offense

February 9, 2011
Thumbnail image for Theft of lost property: not a criminal offense

Most people who are accused of theft suffer through feelings of anxiety and fear about the outcome of their case. For defendants charged with misdemeanor offenses, they are looking at a penalty of up to one year in jail and a fine of $2,500. But most of these people are not aware that the offense […]

Read the full article

Penalties for possession of drug paraphernalia under Illinois law

November 19, 2010
Thumbnail image for Penalties for possession of drug paraphernalia under Illinois law

Illinois law makes it a criminal offense to knowingly possess drug paraphernalia. The law does not distinguish between the type of drug the paraphernalia is used for. The penalties for possessing a pipe to smoke marijuana are the same as a needle to shoot heroin, even though heroin is regarded as a more dangerous drug. […]

Read the full article

Penalties for the offense of retail theft under Illinois law

August 20, 2010
Thumbnail image for Penalties for the offense of retail theft under Illinois law

Shoplifting is a serious crime in Illinois and the law imposes harsh penalties on anyone who is caught stealing from a store. The statute in Illinois governing the criminal offense of retail theft is 720 ILCS 5/16A-13. Anyone who is charged with retail theft for the first time is likely to be surprised at how […]

Read the full article

New laws in Illinois increase penalties for speeding tickets

July 3, 2010
Thumbnail image for New laws in Illinois increase penalties for speeding tickets

The laws against speeding in Illinois got tougher on July 2, 2010 when Governor Pat Quinn signed a new law aimed at persons driving 100 mph or faster. The law has two important parts: Speeding 31 mph over the Limit is a Class B Misdemeanor Speeding 31 mph in excess of the limit is no […]

Read the full article

The penalty for driving without insurance in Illinois increased in 2010

May 22, 2010
Thumbnail image for The penalty for driving without insurance in Illinois increased in 2010

Insurance laws in Illinois are tough. Every driver on the road must have a liability insurance with coverage of at least $20,000.00 per person for bodily injury as a result of an accident. Failure to carry insurance has serious consequences. Driving without insurance is a petty offense in Illinois. The statute citation is 625 ILCS […]

Read the full article

Will I lose my FOID card because of an order of protection?

May 6, 2010
Thumbnail image for Will I lose my FOID card because of an order of protection?

A new law became effective in Illinois on January 1, 2010 concerning the right to possess firearms when subject to an order of protection. The new law provides that the Illinois State Police shall revoke the Firearm Owner’s Identification (FOID) card of a person who is named as a respondent in an order of protection. […]

Read the full article