bodily harm

An explanation of Illinois sex crimes

March 5, 2012
Thumbnail image for An explanation of Illinois sex crimes

The accusation of sexual misconduct can be devastating for a defendant. First, the person is tried in the court of public opinion, and almost always found guilty when his or her mug shot appears in the news. Second, regardless of any sentence imposed in a criminal case, the defendant will be required to register as […]

Read the full article

Summary of sentencing rules for misdemeanor offenders

December 5, 2011
Thumbnail image for Summary of sentencing rules for misdemeanor offenders

The potential penalties for a Class A misdemeanor offense include up to one year in the county jail and a maximum fine of $2500. Technically, a sentence of incarceration can last for only 364 days. A jail sentence of 365 days or more is only permissible for a felony offense. Additionally, any sentence lasting one […]

Read the full article

Two types of domestic battery and penalties

September 13, 2011
Thumbnail image for Two types of domestic battery and penalties

The law in Illinois provides that there are two types of domestic battery offenses. First, a person can be charged with domestic battery for causing bodily harm to any family or household member. Second, a person can also be charged with domestic battery for making contact of an insulting and provoking nature with any family […]

Read the full article

Why was I arrested for domestic battery when the victim refused to sign a complaint?

April 2, 2011
Thumbnail image for Why was I arrested for domestic battery when the victim refused to sign a complaint?

All too often a person involved in a hostile confrontation in a domestic relationship will call the police without knowing the serious legal consequences that follow. Usually the person dialing 911 does not intend to have anyone arrested. The person’s motive is usually to calm the situation. But unfortunately, once the 911 call is made, […]

Read the full article

The penalty for driving without insurance in Illinois increased in 2010

May 22, 2010
Thumbnail image for The penalty for driving without insurance in Illinois increased in 2010

Insurance laws in Illinois are tough. Every driver on the road must have a liability insurance with coverage of at least $20,000.00 per person for bodily injury as a result of an accident. Failure to carry insurance has serious consequences. Driving without insurance is a petty offense in Illinois. The statute citation is 625 ILCS […]

Read the full article

What is the legal definition of great bodily harm?

April 25, 2010
Thumbnail image for What is the legal definition of great bodily harm?

If a person causes great bodily harm to another while committing a criminal offense, the charge is usually a felony. What is the definition of great bodily harm? The Illinois Criminal Code of 1961 does not specify which injuries constitute great bodily harm. The question is for the jury to decide. When defendants have been […]

Read the full article

I got arrested for battery. What are the penalties under Illinois law?

April 18, 2010
Thumbnail image for I got arrested for battery. What are the penalties under Illinois law?

Battery is a criminal offense in Illinois that is classified as a misdemeanor, unless there is serious injury. In cases of serious injury, battery is charged as a felony. Battery is found in the criminal code at 720 ILCS 5/12-3, which provides the following: A person commits battery if he (or she) intentionally or knowingly […]

Read the full article

What is aggravated DUI in Illinois?

March 9, 2010
Thumbnail image for What is aggravated DUI in Illinois?

While an arrest for driving under the influence is a misdemeanor on the first offense in Illinois, there are some circumstances where even a first offense can be a felony. Felony DUI offenses are called aggravated DUI. Misdemeanor offenses have a maximum sentence of less than one year of imprisonment. Felony offenses, on the other […]

Read the full article

Can parents in Illinois get charged with domestic battery for striking their children?

February 21, 2010
Thumbnail image for Can parents in Illinois get charged with domestic battery for striking their children?

Domestic battery is a serious criminal offense in Illinois. The first offense is a Class A misdemeanor for which the court can sentence the defendant to up to one year in jail and order the defendant to pay a $2,500 fine. Also, the minimum sentence for domestic battery is a conviction that cannot be expunged […]

Read the full article

What happens on a second offense of domestic battery in Illinois?

February 17, 2010
Thumbnail image for What happens on a second offense of domestic battery in Illinois?

Domestic battery enhanced is a Class 4 felony in Illinois. It is based on a prior domestic battery or violation of an order of protection.

Read the full article