720 ILCS 5/11-1.40

Predatory Criminal Sexual Assault in Illinois

January 15, 2018
Thumbnail image for Predatory Criminal Sexual Assault in Illinois

720 ILCS 5/11-1.40 defines predatory criminal sexual assault and the corresponding penalties. Pursuant to¬†720 ILCS 5/11-1.40, predatory criminal sexual assault occurs under specific conditions. First, the perpetrator must be at least 17 years old. Second, the victim must be less than 13 years old. If such a perpetrator makes any sexual contact with such a […]

Read the full article

Truth-in-sentencing: defendants must serve more than 50% of the sentence imposed

March 20, 2013
Thumbnail image for Truth-in-sentencing: defendants must serve more than 50% of the sentence imposed

Defendants in felony cases are subject to special rules in sentencing. Compared to misdemeanor sentencing, felonies are complicated. The court is governed by obscure rules that can sometimes produce unexpected results. And the last thing a defense attorney wants in court is to advise a client on a sentence and have something unexpected come up. […]

Read the full article

Offenses that mandate sex offender registration in Illinois

January 22, 2012
Thumbnail image for Offenses that mandate sex offender registration in Illinois

Illinois law provides that any person who is found guilty of a sex offense must register as a sex offender pursuant to the Sex Offender Registration Act. See 730 ILCS 150/1. A person who is required to register will have his identity made part of the public registry managed by the Illinois State Police. The […]

Read the full article