Passing a School Bus

I got a ticket for passing a stopped school bus. What are the penalties provided by Illinois law?

by Sami Azhari on March 13, 2010

A ticket for failing to stop for a school bus can be expensive and suspend your driver’s license. The law is written in the Illinois Vehicle Code at 625 ILCS 5/11-1414.

The law provides that all vehicles must come to a complete stop for a school bus that is loading or unloading child passengers. The school bus must display a flashing stop sign.

Motorists are not required to stop for a school bus where the bus is stopped on a four lane highway and there are at least two lanes traveling in the opposite direction. But the only vehicles that are permitted to continue driving past the school bus must be on the opposite two lanes of the road.

The offense is not criminal. A ticket for passing or overtaking a school bus is a petty offense for which the fine is $150 on the first offense and $500 on the second offense.

The important issue for these tickets is that a conviction for this offense will cause the Secretary of State to suspend your driver’s license for a period of three months. A second conviction will cause the Secretary of State to suspend your driver’s license for one year. You may be eligible for a restricted driving permit during the suspension (e.g., a hardship license allowing you to drive to and from work).

Previous post:

Next post: