Speeding in a School Zone

What are the penalties in Illinois for speeding in a school zone?

by Sami Azhari on March 3, 2010

Speeding in a school zone is a petty offense under the Illinois Vehicle Code. A petty offense is punishable by a fine only. For most petty offenses, the maximum fine in traffic court is $1,000.

A ticket for speeding in a school zone is a serious traffic offense because it can result in the Secretary of State suspending your driver’s license.

The law provides that the speed limit in a school zone is 20 miles per hour (20 m.p.h.) on school days when children are present. See 625 ILCS 5/11-605.

A school day begins at 7:00 a.m. and lasts until 4:00 p.m. The speed limit must be posted (i.e., there must be a sign). Technically, the children must be near enough that a hazard exists (but most traffic court judges would conclude this anyway).

The first offense results in a fine of $150. However, a second offense carries a mandatory fine of $300. In addition to these fines, the driver must also pay $50 towards the school district (this is collected by the court).

The critical issue with speeding in a school zone is that the offense does not allow court supervision. That means that any ticket for speeding in a school zone will result in conviction, which cannot be expunged from your driver’s record and results in points on your license.

Three convictions for moving violations in 12 months will cause the Secretary of State to suspend your license. However, for drivers under 21 years of age, 2 convictions in 24 months will cause a suspension.

A school zone speeding ticket is a serious matter and an attorney should be retained.

Previous post:

Next post: