Illinois Reckless Driving

What is the definition of reckless driving in Illinois?

by Sami Azhari on February 20, 2010

The statute that defines reckless driving in Illinois is 625 ILCS 5/11-503. It provides that reckless driving is

driving any vehicle with a willful and wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.

Reckless driving is a Class A misdemeanor offense. The penalty can be up to one year in jail and a fine of $2,500. The court may also sentence the defendant to probation, community service, and traffic school.

Aggravated reckless driving is a felony offense. This occurs whenever a person is guilty of reckless driving and the result is an accident causing great bodily harm, permanent disability or disfigurement to any person. Aggravated reckless driving is a Class 4 felony offense. The sentencing statute provides that the penalty can be 1-3 years in the Department of Corrections and a fine of $25,000. Nonetheless, the court may sentence the offender to probation.

If the offense results in an accident causing bodily harm which is less than great bodily harm, permanent disability or disfigurement to a child or a school crossing guard who is performing his or her duties, it becomes a Class 4 felony. However, if the result is great bodily harm to a child or school crossing guard, then it is a Class 3 felony, which is 2-5 years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000. Class 3 felony aggravated reckless driving is probationable.

Reckless driving is an offense for which the defendant can lose his driver’s license. The Secretary of State can revoke the driver’s license of any person who is convicted three times in 12 months of reckless driving. A single conviction for aggravated reckless driving resulting in great bodily harm, permanent disability or disfigurement to any person will also result in a mandatory revocation. See 625 ILCS 5/6-205.

If the police wrote you a ticket for reckless driving, you are facing a serious criminal charge.

Previous post:

Next post: