The law in Illinois provides that drivers who are younger than 21 years old will have their licenses suspended for 2 or more moving violations in 2 years (24 months). But not every traffic ticket will count towards the limit.
To be clear, the only traffic tickets that count towards the limit are moving violations. Moving violations are those that come from Chapter 11 of the Illinois Vehicle Code. If you are pulled over by the police and receive a traffic ticket, check the number of the statute you are accused of violating. A speeding ticket would say 625 ILCS 5/11-601(b), and the number 11 means that it is a moving violation.
Traffic tickets for issues like tinted windows, a cracked windshield, loud mufflers, no seat belt, or no front license plate are not moving violations. These offenses are called equipment violations. They do not come from Chapter 11 of the code and therefore, they do not result in suspension.
If the traffic ticket you received is for a moving violation, then you run the risk of a driver’s license suspension. For purposes of counting the 2 moving violations, the 24-month period starts on the date of arrest from the last moving violation.